New English version A Pokal Angyala (Angel of the Hell)

Games for Spectrum, C64, Amstrad, Amiga, Apple ][ and the rest of the 8-bit and 16-bit platforms. Pleas for help, puzzles, bug reports etc.

Moderator: Alastair

Alex

New English version A Pokal Angyala (Angel of the Hell)

#1 Post by Alex » Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:16 am

A while ago I started playing the English version of the Hungarian game Pokol Angyala, A for the c64. Unfortunately I soon discovered it was full of bugs (for instance the game crashed on taking some vital objects), blurred pictures and errors in the translations which made some puzzles illogical (the names of some objects were wrong for instance a sling was called a knife, vultures were translated as eagles, a shield was called a lance and some of the room discriptions were wrong also). Because of all this the game (especially because of some of the bugs) was completely unplayable. However luckily because of one of the bugs I managed to access the programm code and I decided to make a new translation in order to be able to play the game.

The first 'small' :) problem I encountered was I don't speak a word Hungarian, but with the help of a dictionary and some general knowledge of languages I managed to do quite well I guess. I decided to do a complete new translation of the original. I'm sure the translation isn't perfect, but I have mended the errors from the first translation and using the original Hungarian game the puzzles make more sense now. I also used the pictures from the Hungarian version because they are not blurred like some in the English version available on the internet.

While translating the original game I noticed the original Hungarian version also has some bugs (three of them until now).

I now have completed 70% of the game and when it is finished I will upload it as a fixed game on this site.

IstenNyila

Re: New English version A Pokal Angyala (Angel of the Hell)

#2 Post by IstenNyila » Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:53 pm

Hi Alex,