TI-99/4A for dummies

Everything you ever wanted to know about emulators and interpreters - but were afraid to ask.

Moderator: Alastair

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Gunness
Site Admin
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

TI-99/4A for dummies

#1 Post by Gunness » Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:42 am

I wanted to test a few games in order to update their pages in the database, but I have no idea how to load them.
After fiddling about with the Win99a emulator, I managed to insert a virtual floppy, but that's where the troubles start.
I have tried LOAD and DLOAD, and there appears to be an OLD and RUN command associated with loading, but I cannot get it to work:
RUN "DSK1.progname" doesn't work.

Any TI-99 experts out there?

Alastair
Posts: 746
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:21 am

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#2 Post by Alastair » Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:45 pm

Looking at http://www.99er.net/basicref.html it appears that you use OLD to load programs! The logic defies me.

User avatar
Gunness
Site Admin
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#3 Post by Gunness » Sat Mar 03, 2012 1:00 pm

It doesn't make much sense, and I can't get it to work.
I've tried various combinations of
OLD "DSK1.progname"
OLD progname
etc
nothing works :(

Alastair
Posts: 746
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:21 am

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#4 Post by Alastair » Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:23 pm

Perhaps you don't need the quotes, do any of the following work?
OLD DSK1
OLD DSK1 progname
OLD DSK1.progname
OLD DSK1:progname
OLD DSK1,progname

Or perhaps it uses DSK0 ?

Keetie
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:16 pm

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#5 Post by Keetie » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:10 pm

http://www.mainbyte.com/ti99/emulator/emulator.html

This one helped me out, after a few days trying, to get a basic listing onto a TI diskimage (DSK). After that I could indeed load the game with OLD DSK1.<NAMEGAME>.

It too describes how to extract files from a TI DSK image.

However not the newest Win99/4A version yet ...

User avatar
Gunness
Site Admin
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#6 Post by Gunness » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:28 pm

I will test the suggestions from both of you - thanks!

Keetie
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:16 pm

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#7 Post by Keetie » Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:00 pm

Don't forget to press Caps Lock!

User avatar
Gunness
Site Admin
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#8 Post by Gunness » Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:47 pm

Ah! Important tip there. That might make a huge difference to my efforts. I really hate TI-99's BASIC implementation already.... :)

Keetie
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:16 pm

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#9 Post by Keetie » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:24 pm

Better to use Extended Basic here. Insert cartridge - TI Extended Basic. Choose 2 when starting the emulator.

JOEMORRIS
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:52 am

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#10 Post by JOEMORRIS » Wed Jan 06, 2016 8:18 am

Okay ... Disk images can be various types - Classic99 can use FIAD , so let's assume we have a file (FIAD) of a game called SPACEWAR

I would put it in the DSK1 folder, if it's extended basic , type RUN "DSK1.SPACEWAR", in TI BASIC type OLD DSK1.SPACEWAR then RUN

Games on the TIGAMESHELF often come with a .BIN extension on them - get rid of that, just rename it without the extension.
TI FILES is what you need without having to swap around Disk types in the options on classic99

Hope this helps?

User avatar
Gunness
Site Admin
Posts: 1768
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: TI-99/4A for dummies

#11 Post by Gunness » Wed Jan 06, 2016 2:00 pm

Hi Joe, and welcome to the forum - quite old topic you located there, but thanks for the input :thumb:

Post Reply